Choosing a Trip: Thoughts from Trip Leaders

Choosing a Trip: Thoughts from Trip Leaders

There are a LOT of different DOC First-Year Trips you can choose to go on (read all the descriptions here), and all of them can be amazingly fun!  But while you probably can figure out what happens on a hiking, kayaking, or canoeing trip (hint: you hike, kayak,or canoe), some of the trip types are a little different.  Below, hear from former and current trip leaders about what kind of trips are out there…

Nature Photography

“Leading the nature photography DOC trip my sophomore year was one of the most rewarding things that I have ever done at Dartmouth.  I have such amazing memories of all of us laying out on the porch of our cabin at night, eating snacks and watching the stars. My co-leader and I also would wake up each of our tripees every morning by singing a different golden oldie to them. And while we (obviously) ended up with some great photos, no prior photo experiences is necessary!  My co-leader was the experienced photographer while my photo skills mostly include singing “Paparazzi” by Lady Gaga.”   –Priya Krishna ’13, Dallas, Texas

Fishing

“This past summer I led a DOC First-Year fishing trip and had an amazingly rewarding experience. Even though abilities ranged from ‘i’ve been fly fishing my entire life’ to ‘gross i’m not touching that’, the laid-back nature of the trip made for a fun time for everybody. Whether we were fishing, swimming in rivers, or just playing cards at the cabin, our days in the 2nd College Grant were unforgettable. I can’t think of a better way to make the transition from high school to Dartmouth.”  –Billy Wolff ’13, Los Angeles, California

Outdoor Education

“I led a new trip last year called Outdoor Education and it was an awesome way to get close with my trippees! Our trip was very laid back so we had a lot of time to bond with each other and be flexible to do what we wanted. Since there was no strict structure for our trip, we were able to decide as a group what most our activities were so we were constantly having a great time whether we were swimming in Storr’s Pond or playing banana grams. We all got even closer when we led a group of middle school students through the High Ropes Course.”   –Juliana Ortego ’13, Garden City, New York

Trailwork

“I led a trailwork trip trip last year, and even though I hadn’t done that much trailwork before, I loved every second.  We worked up by the Beaver Brook shelter on Mt. Mousilauke, building waterbars and clearing trails. The trailwork was fun, and it was great to be able to give back to the trails that I love to hike, but my strongest memory was playing Apples to Apples with my trippees.  One game went on for three hours, and at one point we even had a couple AT through-hikers join us.  The whole time we sat around under the shelter, joking and getting to know each other better; by the end we’d all gotten nicknames.  Working with my trippees the next day didn’t even feel like work, it was just hanging out with my friends Lush, Birdseed, Cap’n, Moth and Steak in the outdoors.”  –Evan Curhan ’14, Corte Madera, California

Coming up next week…more perspectives from leaders of various types of DOC Trips.  Remember to check out the full descriptions here and learn more about choosing a trip here.  As always, feel free to contact us with any questions!

Leave a Reply

