Trip Leader Profile: Adria Brown ’15

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2012.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Adria Brown ’15

Adria Brown ’15 is from St. Louis, Missouri.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

I’m leading Moderate Hiking along the Appalachian Trail.

What are you studying?

Right now, I want to double major in Native American Studies and Art History.  Basically, pick a subject in humanities and I want to major in it. Downside: You write papers in every class and start to get sick of the English language.

What DOC Trip did you go on?

I went on the “Farm Livin'” trip where we sat around eating cheese and yogurt on an alumni’s farm. It was glorious, rainy, and kind of a posh way to be introduced to Dartmouth. So basically the complete opposite of the trip I’m leading this year. All trips are fun though, so if you get something you’re not necessarily excited for, be excited anyways! They’re all fantastic experiences!

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Unexpected. Fulfilling. Challenging.

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2012?

Cabot Cheese. I was babysitting the other day and noticed Cabot Cheese in their fridge, and definitely ate a few pieces and felt all nostalgic about trips. Truthfully, I’m most excited about meeting new ’16s!

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

Best: Everything works out. So simple, but my mother was right. Breathe, and you’ll be fine.

Worst: Try as many things as you can. Maybe it works for some people, but I was so overwhelmed by how many activities everyone did when I got on campus. I couldn’t fathom how I was going to be social, be involved, and then you know pass my classes. Plus add how freaked out I was about college. What you love to do will eventually come to you. Your interests will change, and then one day you’ll realize you are doing a million things, but they’re all things you learned to love on your own time.

What kind of animal would you want to be?

Dolphin. They fly in the air, are graceful and swim flawlessly.

Favorite Dartmouth memory so far?

How do I choose? Maybe the time, some of my upperclassmen friends kidnapped and blindfolded me and then proceeded to take me to a diner all dressed up in flair? Or the countless conversations you have with friends at 2am, or the orienteering hike I went on during green key, or countless dance parties, the Lodj, presenting in front of an intimidating committee, getting so caffeinated that your entire body shakes, or watching my dear friend talk at Women of Dartmouth. So many memories, I can’t keep track. Be prepared for the best, worst, scariest, and funniest of times.

The one item you forgot to pack when you came to Dartmouth…

My extra contacts.  DO NOT FORGET THESE. I had to have them overnight shipped because I’m an idiot and broke my glasses the day before trips and then tore one of my contacts soon after getting back from trips.

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

Lying on the Green while drinking a milkshake and talking to friends.


One thought on “Trip Leader Profile: Adria Brown ’15

Leave a Reply

