Trip Leader Profile: Maia Matsushita ’13

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2012.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Maia Matsushita ’13 

Maia Matsushita ’13 is from White Plains, New York.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

I’m leading cabin camping at Ritchie Smith Cabin!

What are you studying?

I’m an anthropology major and a theater minor…maybe.

What DOC Trip did you go on?

I went on Nature Writing and Painting. I personally did very little nature writing or painting, but spent a lot of time swimming and hiking and getting to know my trippees and leaders. It was a blast!

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Exciting. Challenging. Short!

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2012?

I’m REALLY excited for DOC trips 2012 because it’s my first time leading a trip! I can’t wait to get to know all of my trippees and have a ton of fun.

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

The best advice I received as a freshman was to give things a chance and step outside my comfort zone. I wasn’t sure about auditioning for an a cappella group during the first week, but I’m really glad I did because it’s been the most fun thing I’ve done at Dartmouth!

What kind of animal would you want to be?

I would want to be Nala from the Lion King movie. She’s awesome.

Favorite Dartmouth memory so far?

My favorite Dartmouth memory was probably my friends taking me out for a surprise midnight breakfast to cheer me up after a bad day. It was so much fun and such a great reminder of the amazing community that I’ve found here!

The one item you forgot to pack when you came to Dartmouth…

Good snowboots. They’re totally underrated and completely helpful when there’s a wall of snow outside your dorm!

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

Lunch at Lou’s Diner (it’s worth waiting in line for, I promise) and hanging out on the Green with my friends.


Leave a Reply

