Trip Leader Profile: Anna Roth ’13

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2012.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Anna Roth ’13

Anna Roth ’13 is from Rochester, Minnesota.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

I’m really excited to be leading easy, leisurely hiking (The Harris Trip) the day after I get back to the U.S.!!

What are you studying?

I’m a Sociology major focusing on International Health Inequality, and I’m writing this from my summer internship with the Dickey Center in Rwanda, where I’m researching Malaria for the Rwandan Ministry of Health.

What DOC Trip did you go on?

When I was a freshman, I went on the Connecticut River Canoeing trip. I thought I was going to be really prepared for this intense college-level canoe trip since I had attended two weeklong canoeing camps as a middle school student. But, my skills weren’t required at all though, since the trip could have accurately been renamed “Talking and Singing Disney Songs While Floating Down a River.” I think my (easy) hiking trip this fall will be a little bit tougher, as it involves actually carrying things. But you can handle it, ’16s!

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

People. Library. Transition.

These may be self-explanatory, but the entire year went by super quickly in a blur of trying to meet people and determine which would be real friends and which would be friendly acquaintances (because at Dartmouth, nobody is really a stranger– you’ll see that kid you met at Dimensions for the next four years, and for the rest of your life on Facebook and LinkedIn).

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2012?

Really excited to meet you in a few months, ‘16s!

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

Freshmen year, I was trying to figure out what classes I should take (hint: if you’re taking something out of obligation, you probably shouldn’t be taking it), which subjects I actually liked, and how to do well in classes ranging from Calculus to Caribbean Literature. I had a hard time figuring out which parts of me carried over from high school and which parts of me were new, college parts. Turns out I didn’t miraculously turn into a new person overnight, and I should have been more comfortable being myself and seeing how that translated to Dartmouth. You guys are all coming to Dartmouth because you’re interesting, exciting people — please don’t try to change that in order to fit in! Bring your whole self to college, no matter who you are you’ll be able to have genuine friendships and find activities you love at Dartmouth.

What kind of animal would you want to be?

Undecided.

Favorite Dartmouth memory so far?

My favorite memories at Dartmouth have all been ones that occurred spontaneously– running out into the middle of the green in the middle of the night during winter term to lie under the lit Christmas tree and talk with a good friend, deciding at 3 AM to take a hike with some friends at 7 the next morning and actually following through, going to a conference in Philadelphia even though I have two finals the next week, going to a dinner with a favorite author on a moment’s notice.

The one item you forgot to pack when you came to Dartmouth…

I forgot something?!

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

My ideal Saturday involves waking up late, figuring out what I need to get done for the next week, grabbing a leisurely 2 hour brunch at FoCo with some friends, and then hanging out on the green, maybe doing some work, and making plans for the evening. This rarely happens, as there are usually plans and meetings and papers and group projects and conferences and games and films and, of course, a million DOC trips.

Leave a Reply

