Trip Leader Profile: Daniel Calano ’15

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2012.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Daniel Calano ’15

Daniel Calano ’15 is from Eastchester, New York.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

I’m leading a hiking trip to Velvet Rocks!

What are you studying?

My intended major is geography modified with studio art, and a minor in Arabic.

What DOC Trip did you go on?

I did a hiking trip last year. It rocked.

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Transformative. Unforgettable. SuperFun*.

*This is one word.

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2012?

I am excited for DOC Trips 2012 for six reasons. #1: I’m SUPER PSYCHED to meet 16s! I made some of my best upperclassmen friends during the time I was on my trip. One of my trip leaders and a few of the people on Hanover Croo turned out to be some of my best friends at Dartmouth. I can’t wait to build some of those friendships with new freshmen! #2: I’m so happy that DOC Trips is the way I get to start my sophomore year! I’m so in love with this school and DOC Trips is one of the main reasons why.

#3: This is my first time leading a DOC Trip! #4: My co-leader and I are SO psyched that we are leading a hiking trip, because we will have so much time to spend getting to know new people after our short hike each day! #5: I get to come back to Dartmouth a few weeks earlier than everyone else! #6:  Getting to spend more time with the amazing and cool and fun and interesting other trip leaders that are on my section.

There are so many more reasons why I’m excited about Trips 2012, but these are the few that came to mind. There’s nothing to NOT be excited about!

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

The best advice I received was from one of my best friends, a member of my a cappella group, and a senior who just graduated this year. She was someone I looked up to so much and hearing this advice from her not only transformed my freshman year, but also changed me as a person.

She told me that it’s okay to be confused, scared, and lonely sometimes. Everyone feels vulnerable once in a while and it doesn’t stop with your freshman year. As a freshman, you’re thrown into so many new experiences and are forced to make serious decisions that you may not be prepared to handle. THAT’S OKAY.

There are so many people who are in your life to help: friends, advisors, counselors, professors, UGAs, parents, siblings; the list goes on and on. This senior told me that it’s okay to seek advice from others and share what I’m feeling, even though it seems like everyone around me always has it all together. Even at Dartmouth, everyone could use a little help!

What kind of animal would you want to be?

Giraffe! I would reach ALL the tallest leaves! Plus, have you seen that YouTube video of those two giraffes beating each other with their necks? SICK.

Or maybe a shark. Shark week is like so popular. Wait no.

Definitely a puppy. Definitely. I act like one anyway. Final answer.

Favorite Dartmouth memory so far?

My favorite Dartmouth memory is camping overnight with the four other freshmen in my a cappella group. We hiked up to a shelter along the Appalachian Trail and spent the night together, just talking and hanging out. We really got to know each other in a way I’ve never really gotten to know anyone, and I think that’s why they say the friends you make in college are the friends that last a lifetime. Not everyone makes those friends freshman year, but I’m glad to have found four already that I can always look to.

The one item you forgot to pack when you came to Dartmouth…

Enough underwear! I didn’t think about it, but you can re-wear clothes no problem, but you can’t re-wear underwear! I ended having to do laundry so often fall term because I kept running out!

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

Sitting on the green with some friends for a bit, maybe grabbing FoCo to-go and picnicking. Before that, going for a run and jumping in the river. Then maybe heading home to hang out for a bit. MAYBE hitting the libs for some homework, but more likely hitting the libs for some facetime. Duh.

Leave a Reply

