Trip Leader Profile: Andrew Roberts ’14

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2012.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Andrew Roberts ’14

Andrew Roberts ’14 is from Miami, Florida.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

I’m leading a canoeing trip this year where we’ll be paddling the Magalloway River in the Second College Grant.

What are you studying?

I am a Computer Science modified with Economics major and an Asian and Middle Eastern Studies minor.

What DOC Trip did you go on?

I went whitewater kayaking in the 2nd College Grant for my freshman Trip, and then, last year, I led a hiking trip through the Presidential Mountains. That means that this year, I’ll be leading my grand-trippees!

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Not. Enough. Words.

BUT, if forced to choose – My 3 words would be: Floormates. Opportunities. Weekends.

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2012?

I am excited to meet some members of the mysterious ‘16 class and to get to know the other leaders on my section. I also hope I get the chance to embarrass my sister, who is a ’16!

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

The best advice I received was to “never say no.”   During freshman fall, when you’re meeting new people, joining new clubs, and living in a new place, you’ll get so much more out of this exciting time if you’re always saying yes to people. One of the upperclassmen during my DOC Trip told us something that has stuck with me ever since; he said, “Everyone at Dartmouth is worth meeting.” I couldn’t agree with this statement more.

What kind of animal would you want to be?

I would like to be a dragon. Flying around, eating villagers, and stealing princesses from towers sounds like it could be a pretty good time. It’s my go-to animal for the “Spirit Animal” game (you’ll find out what that is on your trip).

Favorite Dartmouth memory so far?

My abroad term in Morocco this past spring was the BEST. Living with a Moroccan family, studying and traveling with 9 other Dartmouth students, and getting to immerse myself in the mixture of Arab, French, and Spanish culture was an incredible experience.

The one item you forgot to pack when you came to Dartmouth…

I really wish I had brought a camera. I don’t have any pictures from my DOC Trip or from my freshman fall because I left my camera at home.

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

Grilling, playing beach volleyball with my friends, and then jumping in the Connecticut to rinse off and cool down.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

