Trip Leader Profile: Morgan Wharton ’13

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2012.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Morgan Wharton ’13

Morgan Wharton ’13 is from Binghamton, NY.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

I’m leading a hiking trip from Harris Cabin!

What are you studying?

I am a neuroscience major with a minor in public policy.

What DOC Trip did you go on?

I had the chance to go horseback riding for my freshmen trip.

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Exciting. Cold. Rewarding.

I definitely experienced a lot of unexpected challenges but those challenges showed me how wonderful the Dartmouth community can be and what supportive and incredible people there are here.

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2012?

I can’t wait to lead a trip to experience the excitement and novelty for Dartmouth all over again. The passion that everyone has for Dartmouth and Dartmouth students is the most evident during DOC Trips and I can’t think of a better way to start my senior year. I can’t wait to get to meet 16s and welcome them to Dartmouth!

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

Best: The best advice I received as a freshman was that no one cares about the things you do/wear/say etc. as much as you think they do. So don’t be afraid to try things that you haven’t done before in order to meet people who have different experiences, passions and backgrounds.

Worst: The worst advice I received was to take Chemistry 5 & 6 (notoriously tough pre-med courses).

What kind of animal would you want to be?

If I could be any animal, I’d be Spiderman. (That counts as an animal, right?)

Favorite Dartmouth memory so far?

My favorite Dartmouth memory is the term I spent abroad in Barcelona, Spain with people who have become some of my best friends. It’s hard to pick one specific memory as a favorite, but it was great to travel in a new country with other students because we had to overcome every challenge together and formed a lot of close relationships.

The one item you forgot to pack when you came to Dartmouth…

When I came to Dartmouth, I forgot to pack pictures. Bring pictures of your friends/family/pets from home so you can show them off to your roommates!

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

My ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth would involve hanging out with my friends and talking while eating gelato. Or a Collis smoothie. I think all of the wonderful people are the best part of Dartmouth and even though everyone is always so busy, it’s important to prioritize your friends!

Leave a Reply

