Trip Leader Profile: Talene Monahon ’13

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2012.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Talene Monahon ’13

Talene Monahon ’13 is from Belmont, MA.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

I’ll be leading a hiking trip from Trapper John Shelter.

What are you studying?

This year, I will be a Senior Fellow – which means that I will be spending my senior year developing a project that combines my passion for theater and my interest in issues of women and gender. I’m very excited!

What DOC Trip did you go on?

My freshman year I went on an Organic Farming trip. We camped out under the stars and added yummy farming greens to our mac & cheese. I also learned the hard way that farmers (and everyone, really) should wear sunscreen.

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Fresh. Silly. Enchanted.

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2012?

It’s hard to believe that this will be my 5th time on a DOC trip (including Sophomore Summer STRIPS–one of my favorite things I’ve done at Dartmouth) and I feel nostalgic that this is also my last. I feel that DOC Trips has helped me to discover what is best at Dartmouth and within myself. In my experience, trips can be both beautifully grounding and incredibly fun. I am so excited to meet the 16’s – to learn from them and to engage in this special experience that has defined the Dartmouth community in a larger sense, past, present, and future. I also am desperately in  need of a Salty Dog Rag refresher.

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

I was told not to worry too much or over-plan, but to try things out and do what feels right. Also, save yourself some personal space and avoid Collis Cafe during peak hours.

What kind of animal would you want to be?

Either something tragically beautiful, like a snow leopard in captivity.  OR something slimy with character like a blobfish.

Favorite Dartmouth memory so far?

There are so many! Running around the bonfire with two people who have remained two of my closest friends over my time here is still such a special memory. Also performing with the large, energetic,  multi-talented cast of Hairspray this past winter! Leading a DOC Trip and reaching the summit of Moosilauke before descending to the Ravine Lodge definitely ranks up there!

The one item you forgot to pack when you came to Dartmouth…

Mittens of epic proportions.

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

This question is entirely season-dependent. It would most likely include a run in Norwich with a friend, followed by a few luxurious hours of lazy revelry on the green. Rain plans consist of role-playing a literary cliche: lodging myself in Sanborn with a Shakespeare play, some tea, and a scarf.

Leave a Reply

