Trip Leader Profile: Anna Gabianelli ’16

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2013.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Anna Gambianelli ’16

Anna Gabianelli is from Atlanta Georgia
Anna Gabianelli is from Atlanta, Georgia

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

The Kinsmans & Moosilauke Trip

What are you studying?

Arabic.

What DOC Trip did you go on?

The Franconia Ridge Trip.

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Fast, Surprising, Dynamic

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2013?

I’m psyched for Trips because I have a chance to give back to what served as the launching pad for most of my Dartmouth life by just being myself and having fun introducing people to what I love about school. I can’t wait to get back to Dartmouth myself, let alone meet all the new students sure to make the place even more interesting!

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

The best advice I received (in many forms) was to have an open mind. Freshman year is one of the times when the world is most your oyster, and Dartmouth has a lot of opportunities you can’t find many other places. You never know what random thing could become your passion (or random person become your best friend)!

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Collis smoothies.

What has been the highlight of your time at Dartmouth thus far?

One of my favorite Dartmouth experiences was whitewater kayaking during spring break with Ledyard Canoe Club. I made new friends and discovered an incredible new sport!

What was the most important item you forgot to pack before coming to Dartmouth to move in?

I don’t think I forgot anything; instead I brought way too much stuff with me! Packing up for winter break and at the end of the year was a major struggle.

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

I would bike with my friends to King Arthur Flour in Vermont and buy food and then picnic on Gilman Island (only a short canoe trip up the Connecticut River).

Leave a Reply

