Trip Leader Profile: Emily Eisner ’14

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2013.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Emily Eisner ’14

Emily is from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
Emily is from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

The Zealand & Condcliff Trip

What are you studying?

Math / Women and Gender Studies

What DOC Trip did you go on?

The Kinsmans & Moosilauke Trip

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

learning, single, friends

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2013?

I can’t wait to meet the new Dartmouth students, and to introduce them to Dartmouth in an environment that is very welcoming and free from the drinking and partying that goes on at school. I love being able to connect to the students one on one so that they feel confident and supported going into their first few days of classes.

The best or worst advice you received during your first-year at Dartmouth…

This is a hard question… I think that I was really bad at following advice. Sometimes I followed advice too much, and sometimes not enough. I can’t remember a specific example of a piece of advice that was really bad or good, but I do feel like I had a hard time differentiating between what advice was good, what was bad, and what I really wanted to do for myself. I wish I had listened to myself a little more my freshman year.

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Peanut butter friendship bars…because you have to share them to be able to eat the whole thing so you need a friend and they’re delicious.

What has been the highlight of your time at Dartmouth thus far?

I play ultimate frisbee which has a really wonderful and large community. It’s just a great bunch of people and they have made my time at Dartmouth really wonderful and worth while. I would say that the other highlight has been making connections to faculty on campus. We have an awesome opportunity to get close with faculty who are a great resource and good mentors. So that’s been great.

What was the most important item you forgot to pack before coming to Dartmouth to move in?

I don’t think I forgot anything to be honest….well this year I forgot to bring any nice clothes…which was actually totally fine it turned out, but kinda funny.

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

Have time to do some homework, spend time outside (playing frisbee or running or just hanging out or hiking or something), if it’s cold out I would want to play basketball even though I’m the worst at basketball, cook dinner with friends and eat it. At night I would want to play a board game or some bigger game and then just hang out with people.

Leave a Reply

