Trip Leader Profile: Mackenzie Murphy ’15

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2013.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Mackenzie Murphy ’15

Mackenzie is from West Chester, PA
Mackenzie is from West Chester, PA

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

The Franconia Ridge Trip

What are you studying?

Engineering modified with Computational Ecology

What DOC Trip did you go on?

Hiking on Franconia Ridge!

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Unpredictable. Challenging. Rewarding.

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2013?

I’m excited to lead a trip for the first time and meet the new students! I hope to share my love of the outdoors with others and help with the transition between high school and college.

The best or worst advice you received during your first year at Dartmouth…

Best advice: Create your own Dartmouth experience. The can sometimes be self-inflicted pressure to live up to some ideal Dartmouth lifestyle, so it’s important to remember to take a step back and follow your passions. Everything else will follow.

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Collis. Smoothies.

What has been the highlight of your time at Dartmouth thus far?

This isn’t a particular moment, but I love the nights spent talking to a few close friends – normally when I should have been doing work – about everything from the existence of life on other planets, to our goals for the future. While these conversations are superficially unproductive, I have learned an incredible amount from my peers and value incredibly these types of intellectual (and often silly) interactions.

What was the most important item you forgot to pack before coming to Dartmouth to move in?

My favorite ratty pair of jeans. I had this conception that when I came to college, I would start to “dress like a college student”. I’m not quite sure what that meant, but that pair of jeans was the first thing I asked my parents to send up. I learned that while it’s great to have the opportunity to create a new identity in college, it’s important to bring your past along too.

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

Hiking, a sing-along and frisbee on the Green, and cooking dinner with friends.

Leave a Reply

