Trip Leader Profile: Semarley Jarrett ’14

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2013.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for Semarley Jarrett ’14

Semarley is from Mount Vernon, NY
Semarley is from Mount Vernon, NY

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

The Billings Lodge Trip

What are you studying?
I’m a double major in Georaphy and Women & Gender Studies.

What DOC Trip did you go on?

D912, Moose Mountain Yoga Trip

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Challenging, Eye-Opening, Surprise

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2013?

I’m really excited because my trip leaders were so helpful to me when I was a trippee who knew very little about Dartmouth. I’m excited to see what the new students are thinking, and to see what kinds of questions have, and how I can assist in that transition.

The best or worst advice you received during your first year at Dartmouth…

The best advice that I received was actually from one of my trip leaders who said to know that rejection is real. You are going to face it. But, it’s okay if you get rejected from the things you apply for, I did, it’s part of the process. Keep trying, but embrace rejection for what you can learn from it.

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Barbecue tender queso from the Hop.

What has been the highlight of your time at Dartmouth thus far?

I have been fortunate enough to get to travel and study abroad on two FSPs (Foreign Study Programs).

What was the most important item you forgot to pack before coming to Dartmouth to move in?

I need to do a specific hair conditioning to take care of my hair, and I didn’t bring it. So, I had to wait for my parents to get it to me.

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

It would involve me, one or two other friends, my room, and some kind of Netflix Scandal/Grey’s Anatomy marathon.

Leave a Reply

