Trip Leader Profile: David Garcia ’16

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2013.  To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the series here

10 Questions for David Garcia ’16

David is from Lodi. NJ.
David is from Lodi. NJ.

What DOC Trip are you leading this fall?

The Peaks Cabin Fishing Trip

What are you studying?

Lots of things!

What DOC Trip did you go on?

The John Rand Trip

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth…

Reflective, bold, intimate.

Why are you excited for DOC Trips 2013?

When I was going to Dartmouth, I was both excited and nervous. I was excited to meet new friends and share a love for academics with my peers, but I was nervous that I would not fit in. I want to be a trip leader in order to help my trippees’ transitions from high school to college be as smooth as possible. I am eager to see the mix of nervous/excited energy that first-years show and clear it into purely excited energy.

The best or worst advice you received during your first year at Dartmouth…

Some of the best advice I received my freshmen year was to be risky. Take classes that you are interested in yet may not know much about. Join organizations that may not be in your comfort zone. Try something different at least once! You never know; you may fall in love with something (I did!).

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Definitely the burger special at the Hop. Hits the spot every time, and for a meal swipe? You can’t beat it!

What has been the highlight of your time at Dartmouth thus far?

All through my high-school career, I wanted to know my teachers on a more intimate level. I wanted to know why they became teachers, why they taught X subject, and what they see themselves doing ten years from now. Unfortunately, I never became close with any of my teachers. At college, it was exactly the opposite. My professors wanted to know about my friends and family, both on and off campus. I loved it, and many times I met with my professors outside of class for a coffee or a meal. Most notably, I met with Professor Thum, my Writing 5 professor, as well as Professor Pfister, my Writing 7 professor. They were both excellent professors during my time in their respective classrooms, and I still keep in touch with them about my academics, career plans, and personal life. They are great resources I can always turn to, and I could not be more grateful to have met them.

What was the most important item you forgot to pack before coming to Dartmouth to move in?

I forgot to pack a stapler. After just printing an essay you just wrote, and then running to class, a stapler is the difference between a teacher smiling or frowning when you hand it in. But actually…

Your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth…

Napping anywhere.

Leave a Reply

