Trip Leader Profile: Gordon Driscoll ’17

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2014. To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the blog’s series here.

10 Questions for Gordon Driscoll ‘17

Gordon (on the left) is from New Canaan, CT.

What DOC trip are you leading this fall?
Hiking 3

What DOC Trip did you go on?
Whitewater Kayaking

What are you studying?
Economics

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?
Best year ever.

Why are you excited for DOC First-Year Trips 2014?
DOC First-Year Trips and, more specifically my leaders, influenced my first year in the best way possible. Because of them, I always had people to turn to when I had a question or problem, great upperclassmen friends, and a comfortable means tough which I could get involved in different activities on campus. I’m really excited for this year to instill a little bit of wisdom (hopefully) in my trippees and try to make them feel as comfortable at Dartmouth as my trip leaders made me feel

What’s your favorite thing to eat on campus?
Omelettes from Collis. Love em

What has been the highlight of your time at Dartmouth thus far?
Meeting the people I have. Between club sports and the classroom, I know I had met lifelong friends in the first couple weeks on campus

What was the most important item you forgot to pack before coming to Dartmouth to move in?
Flags and dorm decorations. Make your room your own

What’s your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth?
My ideal Saturday afternoon was one that I experienced relatively late in the year. Down past some residential parts of Hanover there’s a little patch of forest/grass that meets the Connecticut river about a half a mile from the docks. Bring a football, some speakers, or whatever else for the afternoon and try to catch the sunset as hits the river. Since it’s only about a 10 minute walk from campus, you get to experience the true beauty of New Hampshire and still get to use your dinner meal swipe

What piece of advice would you give to incoming freshman?
Have fun outside. You don’t realize until the winter how incredible and beautiful the New Hampshire outdoors are and the opportunities Dartmouth provides for adventure.

Leave a Reply

