Trip Leader Profile: Callan George ’16

Note: This post is part of the “Trip Leader Profile” series, which will introduce some of the student volunteers for DOC Trips 2014. To learn more about our great group of trip leaders, check out the introduction to the blog’s series here.

10 Questions for Callan George ‘16

Callan is from South Royalton, VT.

What DOC trip are you leading this fall?
Cabin Camping

What DOC Trip did you go on?
Canoeing

What are you studying?
Engineering

3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?
Big Green love

Why are you excited for DOC First-Year Trips 2014?
Trips was one of the best experiences I had freshmen year, and I can’t wait to be sharing that experience again, but this time from the other side of the fence.

What’s your favorite thing to eat on campus?
Give me a Collis smoothie any day, although Foco tortellini is a close second.

What has been the highlight of your time at Dartmouth thus far?
This is one of the hardest questions I’ve ever been faced with because I’ve met so many beautiful people here and had so many wonderful experiences that it’s literally impossible for me to pick just one. However, one of the most recent highlights of my time here was the spring break trip I took with Cabin and Trail (a subsection of the DOC) to Texas to go backpacking in the desert for 10 days. I’ve never formed such strong bonds with such a diverse group of people so quickly before, and some of those people have turned into my close friends and are now and integral part of my support group at Dartmouth. Even if you’re not an avid hiker, I would definitely recommend checking opportunities like this out, because they create memories that can never be duplicated and friendships that will become invaluable.

What was the most important item you forgot to pack before coming to Dartmouth to move in?
A fan. It may technically be fall, but there will be some hot and humid days. Having a fan will be a godsend, especially if you’re in one of the less temperature regulated dorms.

What’s your ideal Saturday afternoon at Dartmouth?
One without homework. But actually, that depends on the season. Because I’m on for sophomore summer now, I’d have to say a morning out on the water with my friends, canoeing and soaking up the sun, would be ideal.

What piece of advice would you give to incoming freshman?
Not to sound cheesy, but I think the most important thing is to do you. Coming in, it can be so easy to feel like everyone is doing a certain thing, or everyone thinks a certain way, but it’s not true, and trying to change yourself to fit cultural expectations that don’t actually exist is something that you will regret later on. You got to Dartmouth by doing you, don’t stop now.

Leave a Reply

