Volunteer Profile: Jeffrey Gao ’18

10 Questions for Jeffrey Gao ’18

165919_498439110172193_1046128939_n
Jeffrey Gao ’18 is from San Diego, CA.

What is your role for Trips 2015?

I am leading a hiking trip.

What do you like to study?

I would like to double major in Econ and CS.

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

I went on Climb & Hike.

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

structured, exploratory, rowing

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2015?

I’m really looking forward to getting to meet students who are younger than me after being the youngest on campus. I think it will be really exciting to experience all of trips again now that I know so much that I didn’t before.

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip (or if you didn’t go on a trip, before the start of your time at Dartmouth)?

I was pretty nervous about what lay ahead after trips in terms of getting connected with people (on the lightweight rowing team especially) and figuring all the logistics of living on campus out. I really thought that it was much more complicated than it turned out to be, and I kept the thought that I had a lot to figure out once I got back on campus in the back of my head.

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Foco stir fry

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

I think that my biggest highlight would be traveling with my rowing team from campus to Tennessee, but I also feel that the entire year/season was a great experience in finding a community on campus that shared my interests.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

I think that my biggest problem for move-in day was packing too much, and trying to find somewhere to store all the items that I wouldn’t need.

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

I would tell myself that all the challenges and tasks I was apprehensive about were much more realistic than I expected, and that I was treating them as if they were impossible.

Leave a Reply

