Volunteer Profile: Carina Conti ’16

Carina Conti '16 is from Germany and Florida.
Carina Conti ’16 is from Germany and Florida.

What is your role for Trips 2015?

I’m leading a hiking trip.

What do you like to study?

Romance Languages (French and Italian) and Theater

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Mountain Biking

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Welcoming, lonely, growth

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2015?

I’m so looking forward to being a source of comfort, reassurance, and encouragement for the incoming freshman. I’m excited to make new friends and have an adventure.

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip (or if you didn’t go on a trip, before the start of your time at Dartmouth)?

I was afraid that I was physically unprepared for the trip and that meeting new people without modern comforts (hygiene and makeup) would be overwhelming or embarrassing. I was worried that I wouldn’t click with my trippees or that I wasn’t smart enough or good enough to be at Dartmouth.

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Anything from the International Station at Foco

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

SHEBA (a dance group) has been my greatest learning experience at Dartmouth and is my absolute highlight. The dance team constitutes my family and some of my closest friends, as well as a group of artists who have challenged me and whom I admire enormously. Serving campus through dance is a huge privilege and my passion.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

A planner. A planner is my life saver.

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

You do deserve to be at Dartmouth. You are here for a reason. You have so much to offer, and you deserve to grow through the resources that the Dartmouth community offers.

Leave a Reply

