Volunteer Profile: Lucas Bezerra ’16

Lucas Bezerra '16 is from Brazil.
Lucas Bezerra ’16 is from Brazil.

What is your role for Trips 2015?

I am a member of a support croo.

What do you like to study?

Physics and Math

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Hiking 2

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Happy, exciting, changes

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2015?

Meeting 19s and being outdoors! I look forward to some Salty Dog Rag-ing and being comfortable being completely ridiculous… blame it on the boogie!

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip (or if you didn’t go on a trip, before the start of your time at Dartmouth)?

For starters, I was nervous about getting to Dartmouth and managing to find everything in order to even go on my First-Year Trip – I hadn’t visited before coming here. Then, I was a little bit nervous about sleeping outdoors because I’d only done it once before, and a bit because I didn’t know anyone and was scared that I wouldn’t be able to make friends because other people would all already somehow know each other.

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Foco. All day, everyday.

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

The bonfire during freshman year was incredible. It also happened to be on my birthday, and I ran 116 laps. I later on went to a dance party with my friends (mostly they danced while I sorta stood around in pain from so much running) so it was a pretty amazing night!

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

I don’t think I forgot to pack anything, mostly because I moved from another country so I brought only clothes and then bought everything else I needed here (otherwise it wouldn’t have fit in suitcases).

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

I would encourage myself to be very mindful and thoughtful of other people’s opinions and backgrounds, but also to speak my mind freely. I think as a freshman I avoided difficult topics because I didn’t want to offend anyone, and I think now I’m a more knowledgeable and possibly even more interesting person because I say what I think (respectfully).

Leave a Reply

