Volunteer Profile: Sarah Waltcher ’16

sarah waltcher
Sarah Waltcher ’16 is from New York City.

What is your role for Trips 2015?

I am a member of a support croo.

What do you like to study?

Literature, Storytelling, Social Justice

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Hiking 4

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

relationship, whirlwind, self-discovery

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2015?

I am looking forward to keeping our trippees safe physically and generally!

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip (or if you didn’t go on a trip, before the start of your time at Dartmouth)?

I was nervous about those moments in the woods when I inevitably get cranky…I usually try to hide those moments from people but it’s hard when you’re with people for 5 days!

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Collis omelettes

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

A highlight of my time at Dartmouth was going to my friend’s thesis presentation as a freshman! It was so awesome for her to invite me, and a window into a world of academics to look forward to later on in my Dartmouth career. Thesis presentations are open, and I’d definitely encourage anyone to go check them out and support other students’ hard work!

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

school supplies! an agenda, notebooks, index cards etc.

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

Trust me, everyone else is as scared as you are. Be the person they can talk to about being scared, and they will be there for you too.

Leave a Reply

