Voices of Trips: Brett Seeley-Hacker ’18

This post is part of our Voices of Trips series, in which volunteers share stories from their own experiences with DOC First-Year Trips.

Laugh It Off

brett s-h
Brett Seeley-Hacker ’18 is from Bangkok, Thailand.
Going into my Trips experience, I was very idealistic. A little too excited, I was ready to believe everything my cool, confident leaders said. As a result, I got as many tricks as I did treats on my Hiking 4 Trip (B59). After all, who can resist playing a few friendly pranks on a first-year? I was just too innocently awestruck to tell the difference between a real bona-fide Dartmouth tradition and a fake one.
So, over the course of the week, I literally fell for every single trick. For instance, I spent three days choreographing a dance routine with my Trippees for a talent show at the Lodge that would never actually happen. Ah, those were good times; Some of those jokes became my favorite memories from Trips! As a new student I was naturally wary, having heard some horror stories of hazing at other colleges. But the atmosphere was always friendly and welcoming; never malicious. My Trip Leaders and Trippees, many of whom had fallen for the tricks themselves, laughed with me and not at me.
Brett with his own first-year trip (B59) in 2014.
Brett with his own first-year trip (B59) in 2014.
That playful side of Trips taught me an important lesson: it’s good to laugh at yourself every once in a while. There comes a time in everyone’s Dartmouth experience when we are called to step out of our comfort zones, make fools of ourselves, and have a good laugh. But you can trust that the Dartmouth community will always be there to laugh with you, join in your shenanigans, and help you grow. And what better place is there than Trips to dive right in?
Leave a Reply

