Volunteer Profile: Kelly Bach ’16

Kelly Bach '16 is from Charlotte, NC.
Kelly Bach ’16 is from Charlotte, NC.

What is your role for Trips 2015?

I am a member of a support croo

What do you like to study?

Neuroscience, Spanish, Global Health

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Wasn’t able to go on a trip

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Exciting, challenging, exhausting

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2015?

I am incredibly excited to meet a huge number of incoming 19s. I can’t wait to bond with other current students while also having the opportunity to interact with so many new students. I am also excited to be able to serve as a calming and reassuring presence for the 19s when they have first arrived at campus and may be nervous about the adventures before them.

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip (or if you didn’t go on a trip, before the start of your time at Dartmouth)?

I was very nervous about the rigor of the classes I would be taking, and also about making new friends. That sounds very cliche, but even though I love meeting new people, I was still a little concerned about finding my niche and surrounding myself with the type of people I would want to spend 4 years with. Also, I was nervous about being able to form friendships outside of my team, with whom I would be spending so much of my time.

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

2 eggs over easy with cheese and a side of potatoes from Collis

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

Finding the time to lounge by the river/random swimming holes with friends over sophomore summer and let ourselves relax for once was a pretty great highlight of that term.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

A shower caddy

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

FOMO is overrated. If you are surrounded by people you love and who appreciate you, it doesn’t really matter what you are doing, because you will be happy.

Leave a Reply

