Nervous? Don’t worry – we’ve all been there

Even though we’re up here in Hanover getting ready for Trips 2015, we all started out in your shoes, as trippees awaiting our first days at Dartmouth. We asked the Trips Directorate: What were you most nervous about before the start of your own first-year trip?

“I was terrified that I wouldn’t be fit enough to complete the hike.” -Caroline Resor ’17, Outdoor Logistics Coordinator

“Before Trips, I was most nervous about finding a group of people that I actually fit into. I expected people to be friendly, but I really wanted to find that community that I knew would define my next four years. Needless to say, finding my “place” at Dartmouth wasn’t nearly this simple, and it led me much farther out of my comfort zone, which now that I’m looking back, I couldn’t be more grateful for.” -Anna Gabianelli ’16, Croo Captain

“I made my decision to come to Dartmouth on a gut feeling. A couple of weeks before Trips, I began to worry that I hadn’t really thought about the decision. I worried I had picked the wrong school.” -Katie Rowe ’16, Sustainability Coordinator

Trippees and trip leaders at the Lodge.
Trippees and trip leaders at the Lodge.

“When I was coming to college, I had just come out as gay back home. I wasn’t sure how I was going to broach the topic with people I was going to meet in college, especially on my freshmen Trip. I found that, in the end, it just came up naturally in conversation with people I had met. I didn’t need to announce to the world right when I stepped off the bus, or hide my identity for fear of people judging me or anything like that. I was just me.” -David Cook ’16, Croo Captain

“I was so nervous to meet so many new people, who I imagined would be so much smarter, more relaxed, and more interesting than me!” -Cedar Farwell ’17, Outdoor Logistics Coordinator

“I was SUPER nervous about not showering for 5 days. I hate when my face and hair get oily, and I was nervous I would feel gross the whole time. It wasn’t as bad as I had thought because everyone was dirty, but I did feel gross and took a shower immediately after we got back from the Lodge.” -Sam Parker ’15, Assistant Director

Keep an eye out next week for part 2 of this post!

A trip poses in front of Robinson Hall (Robo) with the DOC sign.
A trip poses in front of Robinson Hall (a.k.a. Robo) with the DOC sign.
Leave a Reply

