Volunteer Profile: Feyaad Allie ’16

Feyaad Allie '16 is from Coral Springs, FL.
Feyaad Allie ’16 is from Coral Springs, FL.

What is your role for Trips 2015?

I’m on a Croo

What do you like to study?

Government / Geography / Arabic

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Organic Farming

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Gone too fast

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2015?

I’m looking forward to welcoming the 19s and helping them form their first friendships at Dartmouth! I’m also really excited to work with croolings and trip leaders to make the 19s feel at home.

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip (or if you didn’t go on a trip, before the start of your time at Dartmouth)?

I was most nervous that I wouldn’t pack the right stuff / forget something that was crucial. This is so embarrassing but I actually Facebook messaged someone who went on Section A organic farming to ask if there is anything I had to bring that wasn’t on the list and if he had any advice for the trip…

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

My perfect Collis stir fry order — brown rice, veggies, a scrambled egg, thai peanut and medium sauces topped with sriracha

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

Most of my highlights have been the opportunities I’ve had to study abroad through the D-Plan. One of these opportunities was my study abroad to London in my junior fall. I really enjoyed spending time in London and taking advantage of all the cool things there were to do in the city. The program also allowed me to meet and get to know other Dartmouth students who I probably would not have gotten to know on campus.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

Wool socks — it wasn’t really needed until the end of fall / all of winter so I had time to get some

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

Stop taking naps everyday because of 7:45 drill. This has the potential of turning into a thing where you have to take a nap everyday and it will be really difficult to transition out of that. (It was.)

Don’t study in study groups, you don’t learn well this way and will probably be better off doing independent studying and asking for help on particular things if needed. (This is not the case for everyone!)

You shape your own college experience. Don’t be afraid to stay true to yourself and your values even if it means not doing what it seems like everyone else is doing. You do you.

Leave a Reply

