Volunteer Profile: Matt Krantz ’16

Matt Krantz '16 is from Shaker Heights, Ohio.
Matt Krantz ’16 is from Shaker Heights, Ohio.

What is your role for Trips 2015?

I’m a member of a support croo

What do you like to study?

I’m a computer science major and a Chinese minor, but I like to study pretty much everything!

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Hiking 2

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Exciting, unexpected, formative

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2015?

I’m looking forward to Annie’s mac, the Salty Dog Rag, and late nights in the great outdoors. I’m excited for the ’19s to get to campus, and I can’t wait to help them have the same amazing Trips experience I had as a freshman.

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip (or if you didn’t go on a trip, before the start of your time at Dartmouth)?

I was nervous about finding close friends at school. Dartmouth brought with it a lot of uncertainty, and I didn’t know if I’d fit in well before I arrived for Trips.

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Bob Jr. from the Hop

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

Designing and building a search engine as part of my software design and implementation class (CS 50). It was incredible to build such an intricate and practical program from scratch, and it really helped to solidify my love of computer science.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

Pictures of family. Though it may seem like a pretty minor thing, I found myself wishing I’d brought reminders of home during my first few weeks of school.

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

Don’t stress so much. Things work out for the best, and you’ll more than likely end up where you’re meant to be.

Leave a Reply

