Volunteer Profile: Becca Burten ’16

Becca Burten ’16 is from Los Angeles, CA.

What is your role for Trips 2015?

Leading a nature photography trip

What do you like to study?

Biology and Film

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Hiking 2

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Excitement, growth, introspection

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2015?

Making friends with the ’19s and offering a kind of mentorship if they’d like

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip (or if you didn’t go on a trip, before the start of your time at Dartmouth)?

I was really just nervous about what to pack, I tend not to trust packing lists and wanted to make sure I was really bringing what I should be! In terms of Dartmouth, I was uneasy since I didn’t know anyone going in (no family or friends had ever gone) and I was unsure at what point I’d have ‘friends’ <<< totally solved by trips wahoo!

What is your favorite thing to eat on campus?

Grilled veggie and quinoa salad with a turkey-salami-provolone pesto panini, my own Foco lunch creation

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

This past senior week was pretty great, I ended up bonding with a couple 16s that were also on that I didn’t know as well before, and we ended up cooking really nice dinners and going to Ben&Jerry’s and I finally hiked Mt Cardigan. I prefer hanging out in small groups, and sometimes that’s harder to do when everyone is around on campus.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

A diary. I think writing your thoughts helps you appreciate the good things and re-evaluate the bad.

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

Take your time. I thought I needed to go out 4 nights a week and see everything and know everyone and experience it all, I panicked if I felt left out, I put my academics second to my new social life, and ultimately I wasted a lot of that time. I think first years should fully embrace Dartmouth and all it has to offer, while also understanding that we have plenty of time to experience it all and can take things slow or at our own pace!

Leave a Reply

