Voices of Trips: Ursula Jongebloed ’18

This post is part of our Voices of Trips series, in which volunteers share stories from their own experiences with DOC First-Year Trips.

Lodge Bread is Life

At the end of my hiking trip, I was sweaty, sore, and sunburned. The last thing I wanted to do was meet my future classmates in a crowded old wooden structure, where they would certainly sense my dearth of deodorant. But the can-do, smile-til-you-drop, laugh-through-the-body-odor culture of trips compelled me to follow my trippees into the creaking log cabin.

I will always remember what happened in the following 24 hours, not because it was life-changing, but because it was part of what marked my transition from high school senior to Dartmouth student. Furthermore, it is at the Lodge that everyone is introduced to Dartmouth’s past, present, and future relationship to the White Mountains, especially Mt. Moosilauke. I experienced Trips culture, which is marked by friendliness and open-mindedness, and is spoken about wistfully by Dartmouth students.

Ursula Jongebloed '18 is from Menlo Park, CA.
Ursula Jongebloed ’18 is from Menlo Park, CA.

I will also always remember my trips Lodge experience because it was when I first discovered that LODGE FOOD = AMAZING & WONDERFULL (Two Ls because you will always leave the Lodge feeling wonderFULL.). But really, nothing tastes as good as Lodge bread, especially after the physical and emotional exertion of exploring the outdoors while meeting new people.

After my first bite of Lodge bread, followed by Lodge lasagna and Lodge dessert, I was hooked. Accordingly, as people drove to the Lodge later in the year to eat dinner and hang out, I occasionally joined in. At first it was about the food and the company, but by the end of my first year I began to feel more connected to the place. The Lodge, hidden in the shadow of the majestic Moosilauke ridgeline, is a peaceful refuge.

During their first-year trips, students enjoy a story over breakfast at the Moosilauke Ravine Lodge.
Leave a Reply

