Volunteer Profile: Terence Hughes ’17

terence.jpg

What is your role for Trips 2016?

I am on a support croo for Trips 2016!

What do you like to study?

I’m an anthropology major and neuroscience minor, but I’m particularly interested in healthcare systems, global health, and mental health.

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

I went on the Community Service trip during my freshman year.

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Opportunity, reflection, foco

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2016?

I’m looking forward to establishing connections with trippees that will last not just during trips, but throughout their Dartmouth experience.

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

The highlight of my time at Dartmouth so far was during the Anthropology FSP in Auckland, New Zealand, when my friends and I hiked in Tongariro National Park (an important Maori cultural site & the setting for Mordor in Lord of the Rings) for a couple of days.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

I don’t want to lie and make something up, so the honest answer is I packed way too much stuff.

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

To keep it as simple as possible – say yes.

Leave a Reply

