Volunteer Profile: Monik Walters ’19

Chicago HeadShot-75.jpg

What is your role for Trips 2016?

I am Trip Leader for Cabin Camping.

What do you like to study?

English/Theater

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Mountain Biking

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Experimental, Challenging, and Transformative

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2016?

I want the first year students to get hyped about Dartmouth and I want them to have soooo much fun and feel totally comfortable asking any questions. I cannot wait to see how the 20s make this experience their own and try new things along the way.

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

I remember being in 8 ball hall during the first week of fall term, hanging out with some friends that I had just made, and I was trying to teach them a dance called “Little Man” and while I was trying to teach them the moves, I realized more faces behind me of interested 19s excited to learn the dance as well! Next thing I know I have about 30 people behind me! Things were cramped so someone proposed that we move to Sarner Underground, I said sure and when we arrived a DJ table was set up! People heard the news about the impromptu party and before I could blink twice, we had about 100 people in the room! I was awestruck at what had unfolded, and couldn’t believe that this started with just one dance. I did not know it at the time but some of my best memories of Freshman year had similar qualities: dance, on the spot, people all learning and engaging in a new experience. Later on in the year, I was participating in the danceathon, performing in Boston with SHEBA, performing as one of the Cell Block Tango girls in our Mainstage production of Chicago the musical, or being asked to choreograph specific sets for different fashion shows and other things of the sort. In general, dance at Dartmouth made my experience great and I think that can be true for anyone who finds their niche or passion. I love to move, I love to interact with people and make them smile, and I absolutely love things that are on the spot and impromptu because to me they are the most memorable.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

I think I forgot to pack deodorant, or a bigger water bottle, or maybe extra underwear. I know I forgot something but I told myself to just keep swimming.

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

1) Back away from the french fries slowly.

2) In all seriousness, I would say slow down a bit, so I could take in all the memories that I enjoyed so much and take time to relax more

Leave a Reply

