Volunteer Profile: Paula Mendoza ’19

Paula Mendoza.jpg

What is your role for Trips 2016?

Support crooling!

What do you like to study?

Cognitive Science/Neuroscience and Linguistics (and cooking, if that counts)

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Hiking 3 (G46!)

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Energizing, rewarding, humbling

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2016?

Having a blast with the wonderful 20s! I can’t wait to give them a warm welcome and help them as much as I can. And of course, spending quality time in the White Mountains of New Hampshire!

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

Wow, it’s hard to pinpoint a single moment, but I’d have to say meeting new people through activities! Being a photographer for The Dartmouth Newspaper has allowed me to see so much of the school and its incredible people. I’m constantly reminded of how amazing it is to be at a place like Dartmouth. My growth that has happened throughout my time at Dartmouth is a highlight itself. Also, though it may be cliché, my Trips experience is most definitely one of my top Dartmouth moments. My trippees and trip leaders are some of my closest friends!

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

Rain boots! Coming from L.A., I never needed a pair. But boy, does it rain in Hanover

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

To give myself the time and room to grow. I naively expected a seamless transition into college — academically, socially, and personally. But I learned throughout my first year that growing was part of the transition and I needed to honor myself by not being so hard on myself when things got difficult and being content when things went well.

Leave a Reply

