Volunteer Profile: Alyssa Gonzalez ’17

IMG_1233

What is your role for Trips 2016?

Support crooling!

What do you like to study?

Sociology, Geography, International Relations, and Music!

If you went on a DOC Trip, which trip did you go on?

Cabin Camping

What are 3 words that describe your first year at Dartmouth?

Eye-opening, Magical, and Difficult

What are you looking forward to for Trips 2016?

Starting off my senior year by welcoming in all of the new ’20s! It’s wonderful to have gone full circle in my 4 years and end up back on Trips ready to start my last/best year!

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth so far.

A Cappella! I have grown so much through my a cappella group (the Dodecs!) not only as a musician, but as a leader and as a person. 40 years from now that group will be my Dartmouth and my forever family.

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

I actually over packed and I have been trying to get rid of stuff these past three years! I thought that since I was from Texas I would need to bring my entire house with me…Pro Tip: you don’t really need that extra stuff! I never use half of the things I brought (especially clothes). And if you live far away like me packing up your room at the end of every term is THE WORST!

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

You don’t need the Barbour, the Jack Rogers, or that Lilly Dress. So what if you don’t know a single thing about East Coast culture! You will make friends with or without all those material things and you won’t lose yourself in the process.

Leave a Reply

