Volunteer Profile: Ana Colón ’18

Dead_Horse_State_Park - Ana Mercedes

What is your role for trips 2017?

Crooling

What do you like to study?

Earth Sciences + Astronomy

If you went on a DOC Trip, which did you go on?

Hiking 1 (Skiway)

What were you most nervous or scared about before your own first-year trip?

I’d never hiked before my first year trip, so I was nervous that I wouldn’t be at the same level as others, or that others would think less of me because I couldn’t keep up. Luckily, everyone was super friendly and incredibly helpful.

Favorite food on campus?

Chicken Mondays at the Hop

Tell us about a highlight of your time at Dartmouth thus far.

I went on the Stretch (Earth Sciences FSP) this past fall, and it was a legitimately life-changing experience. It got me stoked on the EARS Department, and I got to know 20 of the coolest Dartmouth people I have ever met. It was also a way for me to spend 10 weeks traveling out west and hiking, which was such an amazing experience. 

What’s the most important item you forgot to pack when you came to move in?

An in-between seasons jacket. When I first got to Dartmouth, all I had was a heavy winter coat and a windbreaker, so fall term consisted of a lot of multiple sweatshirt layering ensembles.

If you could go back to the beginning of your first year here and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

Don’t concern yourself with what others think of you. If you think trying something new would be fun, don’t be afraid to try it because you think others will judge you. Just be you, do what you think is fun, and you’ll find your place 🙂

Leave a Reply

